I’m half-French and also a former teacher of my mother tongue, so I’ll leave it up to you to imagine how much the show hurts both my heart and my ears. Did I still hate-watch the second season the same week it dropped? Obviously. Do I hope more people will be unironically drawn to learning about authentic French culture as well as the language? Of course. If that’s you, then I wanted to recommend some books. Among them are books that Emily would have found helpful to read before she headed haplessly to Paris: books to understand how the French think and communicate, as well as fiction that shows the grittier side of Paris life and, crucially, the more diverse side. So while you wait for the next two confirmed seasons of Emily in Paris, and with Valentine’s Day just behind us, why not immerse yourself in the City of Love? Want more recommendations? Check out 35 of Your Favorite Novels Set in Paris and 100 Must-Read Books Translated from French.

What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 54What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 63What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 43What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 98What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 97What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 71What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 64What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 99What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 82What to Read If You Love  or Love to Hate  EMILY IN PARIS - 77