But I’m 29 now and will be 30 next March, and I can’t help but think that 30-year-old me deserves the reading experience that 10-year-old me had. That inner child needs to be happy as well, and nothing makes her happier than books (and perhaps fudge brownies). So can an adult woman read like a kid again? Here are a few ideas. Reading is as much reading as it is an experience. In our fast-paced information age, it’s more convenient to strip reading to just consuming the words in front of us rather than allowing ourselves the time and space to actually experience the story. Trying to read like a kid again, I think, is the perfect antidote to fast-paced reading. Reading like a kid makes reading an innocent act, in which the only expectation is to feel a sense of joy, not accomplishment or escape.