Here are nine* of my favorite Nikki Giovanni poems that feel like a good place to start among her long, important body of work. I hope when you read them, you feel like I did at 15 discovering her for the first time.

Where to Start With Nikki Giovanni Poems: Her Ten Best*

1. Poem for a Lady Whose Voice I Like

Excerpt: so he said: you ain’t got no talent and she said: god created heaven and earth and all that’s Black within them

2. You Came, Too

8. Nikki-Rosa

Excerpt: I came to the crowd seeking friends I came to the crowd seeking love I came to the crowd for understanding I found you

3. A Good Cry

4. Dreams

Excerpt: in my younger years before i learned black people aren’t suppose to dream i wanted to be a raelet We are not lovers because of the love we make but the love we have

6. I Wrote A Good Omelette

Excerpt: I wrote a good omelet…and ate a hot poem… after loving you Buttoned my car…and drove my coat home…in the rain… after loving you

7. Ego Tripping

childhood remembrances are always a drag if you’re Black you always remember things like living in Woodlawn with no inside toilet and if you become famous or something they never talk about how happy you were to have your mother all to yourself and how good the water felt when you got your bath

9. Knoxville, Tennessee

Next Read: More Beautiful Nikki Giovanni Poems

For a next step in your Nikki Giovanni exploration, I suggest you start with Bicycles: Love Poems, A Good Cry: What We Learn From Tears and Laughter, or, for a more comprehensive look at her writing, The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni. And for younger readers interested in poetry, I highly recommend Hip Hop Speaks to Children: A Celebration of Poetry With a Beat. I always like summer best you can eat fresh corn from daddy’s garden and okra and greens and cabbage and lots of barbecue *The term best is highly subjective. These are ten poems I find beautiful and representative of Giovanni’s work. But I don’t have the hubris to assume I can actually be the judge of what her best writings are. *Editor’s Note: This post originally credited the poem “Mercy” to Nikki Giovanni in error; “Mercy, after Nikki Giovanni” was written by Rudy Francisco and can be found in  Helium.

Reading Pathways  The Best Nikki Giovanni Poems - 45