Keira Knightley (Pride and Prejudice, Atonement) “I am completely uneducated. Not going to university did give me an incredible driving force because it leaves you with a slight chip on your shoulder. It makes me feel I am going to read absolutely everything so I can prove I am not stupid.”         Emma Thompson (Sense and Sensibility, Harry Potter) “I think books are like people, in the sense that they’ll turn up in your life when you most need them. After my father died, the book that sort of saved my life was Gabriel García Márquez’s novel One Hundred Years of Solitude. Because of that experience, I firmly believe there are books whose greatness actually enables you to live, to do something. And sometimes, human beings need story and narrative more than they need nourishment and food.” (O magazine)       Patrick Stewart (X-Men, Hamlet)                     Colin Firth (Pride and Prejudice, Girl with a Pearl Earring) “When I’m really into a novel, I’m seeing the world differently during that time – not just for the hour or so in the day when I get to read. I’m actually walking around in a haze, spellbound by the book and looking at everything through a different prism.”               Emma Watson (Harry Potter, The Perks of Being a Wallflower) “I like books that aren’t just lovely but that have memories in themselves. Just like playing a song, picking up a book again that has memories can take you back to another place or another time.”               Meryl Streep (The Hours, The Devil Wears Prada)                 Kate Winslet (Sense and Sensibility, Revolutionary Road) I think sometimes when you’re young, and even when you’re older, purchasing a book for yourself or anyone else can be terrifying. I left school when I was 16, and I always felt—actually still do in some ways—intellectually insecure. (O magazine)       Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone, The Hunger Games, and [in my dreams] Tampa)                     Got any favorites, dear commenters?


Sign up for our newsletter to have the best of Book Riot delivered straight to your inbox every two weeks. No spam. We promise. To keep up with Book Riot on a daily basis, follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook, , and subscribe to the Book Riot podcast in iTunes or via RSS. So much bookish goodness–all day, every day.

8 Actors on Books and Reading - 778 Actors on Books and Reading - 538 Actors on Books and Reading - 888 Actors on Books and Reading - 788 Actors on Books and Reading - 398 Actors on Books and Reading - 748 Actors on Books and Reading - 588 Actors on Books and Reading - 35