Poetry has proven that it can be both a lesson in history and in the makeup of my own heart. The medium can make me work, stopping me mid-sentence to look up a name or the significance of a street. It can also push me to examine why I know nothing of some events. What have I been reading that history so precious to my favorite poets is fresh news to me? Here are five poetry collections that have taught me about important historical moments about which otherwise I would still be able to claim ignorance. Interested in reading more poetry that will leave you feeling something? Check out 6 Books in Verse That Will Leave You in Awe or read and listen to 15 Soul-Stirring Poems About Music and Its Power.

5 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 285 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 215 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 915 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 435 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 625 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 945 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 365 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 375 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 255 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 775 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 845 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 75 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 15 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 35 Poetry Collections As History Lessons - 83