So I’ve put together a list of 12 of my absolute favorite queer story collections from the past three years. Believe me when I tell you that these 12 are just the beginning. I limited myself to books published in 2020 and after, which means I didn’t include Look Who’s Morphing by Tom Cho, Sea, Swallow Me by Craig Gidney Laurance, or Love After the End edited by Joshua Whitehead. I’m currently reading Pretend It’s My Body by Luke Dani Blue (out in September), and after that I plan to devour Gods of Want buy K-Ming Chang (out in July). I could write several more paragraphs like this, but I’ll refrain. These collections span a wide range of genres form contemporary and historical fiction to sci-fi and fabulism. There’s a book of Métis futurism, and a few collections that can only be defined as Weird Queer. You’ll find queer characters falling in and out of love, wrestling with big life decisions, contemplating time travel, turning into trees, having kids. I’ve tried to include books that represent as broad a range of LGBTQIA+ identities as possible, but of course no list will ever reflect the messy, wonderful diversity of queer lives. Ready for your TBR to overflow with queer brilliance? Let’s go. Looking for more fantastic queer short story collections? Check out this list I made of the stories I’d include in my dream queer short story anthology!

12 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 2612 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 8612 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 5612 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 8712 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 6512 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 8412 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 5612 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 9312 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 7212 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 2412 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 5112 Amazing Queer Short Story Collections to Read Right Now - 27